Technology | Entrepreneurship | Fitness

An Apple a day…

Ten years ago, I didn’t have a Personal Computer. Six years ago, I hadn’t heard of Apple, Inc. Four years ago, I was working on a mobile base station design to test a mysterious new phone. Two years ago, I bought this mysterious phone–the only Apple device I own! Soon, I learned of this chip programmer who designed boards for the ATARI video game, which I played with when I was little, and who used to travel 7 miles for free food every Sunday at the Hare Krishna temple. It was this programmer who had the notion of developing a digital device to vanquish Sony and its ubiquitous Walkman. Co-founder and father of Apple, Steven Paul Jobs was a geek and a workaholic who would work late nights on his innovative ideas. It seems that the hard-work had taken a toll on his life that he left us at such an early age. Whether it is listening to music on the iPod or checking emails on the iPhone, Apple’s products have made people’s lives a lot less stressful. I can’t imagine getting through the day without checking my email, updating my calendar appointments, finding my way on Google maps, checking the weather before heading out, updating on social media, or just listening to music on my iPhone. People’s emotions for Steve’s loss are well-justified, because he has become a part of their lives. And those emotions also represent a fear, if you will, that who would continue to source such outside-the-box innovations in the future. An Apple a day indeed kept the doctor away, didn’t it?

2 responses

  1. AX

    short and sweet. that was great!

    October 7, 2011 at 2:06 pm

  2. Ashish

    AX, thanks! I, myself, don’t have the patience to read multiple pages of news articles, so kept it succinct.

    October 10, 2011 at 11:01 am

Leave a Reply

